DISCOVER THE MANY BENEFITS OF TRAVEL FOR KIDS

Duke and Daisy are always thinking about good things for kids. They’d like to share their recent discovery about the benefit of travel for kids.

Daisy would like to share an article from Mamadisput that inspired her to ask Duke about her plan to take children on a wonderful travel adventure for kids in all 50 United States.

Before they begin the journey, here’s the list of travel benefits for children’s development.

  1. Travel opens your child’s mind
  2. It teaches responsibility
  3. It strengthens families
  4. Boost school grades
  5. They’ll practice tolerance and acceptance
  6. Travel promotes incredible socialization
  7. They’ll learn self-reliance and how to combat boredom

Duke wants to help your children, so he is working with Daisy on some travel ideas for children.

They talked to some travelers to find out why travel is good for everyone.

 

Travel with your kids and let them surprise you.  — AJ and Natasha,

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page. — Saint Augustine

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness. — Mark Twain

“The greatest legacy we can leave our children is happy memories.” — Og Mandino.

They also ask a travel guide for some recommendations for family travel.

Travel guide recommendation for family travels.

Traveling with children is a great way to see things through fresh eyes and to share their delight in new experiences, so, plan a family trip and unplug the smartphones, laptops, and tablets while tuning in to the sights and sounds of nature.

Making travel a top priority is a decision that might require families to forego other luxuries, but the lifelong memories and educational experiences are worth the sacrifice.

Duke and Daisy’s big adventure plans for your children’s travel are trips to all fifty states.

Fifty states

“We are called the nation of inventors. And we are. We could still claim that title and wear its loftiest honors if we had stopped with the first thing we ever invented, which was human liberty.” Mark Twain.

The first state on the journey is Alabama

Duke and Daisy ask Black Bear Alabama’s state animal to share some travel tips for the family to his state.

Duke thinks kids should learn the history of the state before they visit the state. And it may inspire them to learn more about the state’s history.

Alabama, which joined the union as the 22nd state in 1819, is in the southern United States and nicknamed the “Heart of Dixie.” The region that became Alabama was occupied by aboriginals as early as some 10,000 years ago. Europeans reached the area in the 16th century. During the first half of the 19th century, cotton and slave labor were central to Alabama’s economy. The state played a key role in the American Civil War; its capital, Montgomery, was the Confederacy’s first capital. Following the war, segregation of blacks and whites prevailed throughout much of the South. In the mid-20th century, Alabama was at the center of the American Civil Rights Movement and home to such pivotal events as the Montgomery Bus Boycott. In the early 21st century, the state’s economy was fueled in part by jobs in aerospace, agriculture, auto production, and the service sector.

Suggestions from Black Bear for your family visit to Alabama

David Reeve’s 12 Fun Things to Do in Alabama with Kids–Best Family Attractions

Need some help to plan a family vacation in Alabama?

Do yourself a favor and make travel planning easy on your end by heeding our tips and recommendations.

Duke and Daisy also think it’s super if children read a book by authors from Alabama, so they ask their favorite librarian for some book recommendations.

Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia

The Coretta Scott King Award-winning Gone Crazy in Alabama by Newbery Honor and New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of the Gaither sisters as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime.

Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern are off to Alabama to visit their grandmother Big Ma and her mother, Ma Charles. Across the way lives Ma Charles’s half-sister, Miss Trotter. The two half-sisters haven’t spoken in years. As Delphine hears about her family history, she uncovers the surprising truth that’s been keeping the sisters apart. But when tragedy strikes, Delphine discovers that the bonds of family run deeper than she ever knew possible.

Powerful and humorous, this companion to the award-winning One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven will be enjoyed by fans of the first two books, as well as by readers meeting these memorable sisters for the first time.

Readers who enjoy Christopher Paul Curtis’s The Watsons Go to Birmingham and Jacqueline Woodson’s Brown Girl Dreaming will find much to love in this book. Rita Williams-Garcia’s books about Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern can also be read alongside nonfiction explorations of American history such as Jason Reynolds’s and Ibram X. Kendi’s books.

Each humorous, unforgettable story in this trilogy follows the sisters as they grow up during one of the most tumultuous eras in recent American history, the 1960s. Read the adventures of eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, as they visit their kin all over the rapidly changing nation—and as they discover that the bonds of family, and their own strength, run deeper than they ever knew possible.

“The Gaither sisters are an irresistible trio. Williams-Garcia excels at conveying defining moments of American society from their point of view.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review

Sequoyah: The Cherokee Man Who Gave His People Writing (Robert F. Sibert ) by James Rumford

The story of Sequoyah is the tale of an ordinary man with an extraordinary idea—to create a writing system for the Cherokee Indians and turn his people into a nation of readers and writers. The task he set for himself was daunting. Sequoyah knew no English and had no idea how to capture speech on paper. But slowly and painstakingly, ignoring the hoots and jibes of his neighbors and friends, he worked out a system that surprised the Cherokee Nation—and the world of the 1820s—with its beauty and simplicity. James Rumford’s Sequoyah is a poem to celebrate literacy, a song of a people’s struggle to stand tall and proud.

 

 

 

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird By Betheany Hegedus

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.

Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words.

This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn’t give up—not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.

Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle’s novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment